Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Rather unwisely (it would appear) I have chosen a Alfa Romero Spider to enter a charity run to Milan.
I am a buildings engineer by trade, but dabble with cars on the weekend.

The event is "The Banger Rally - London to Milan" on the 26 to 27 October in a £500 or less car.
The teams will travel from CS London, One Cabot Square, to Milan, over the 26th – 28th October, using a banger worth no more than £500.
Details of the event can be found here Roland Castagner is fundraising for Centrepoint
The car is a 1997 2.0 TS, with 106000 miles on the clock but has had all belts and pulleys replace recently, and was sold to me as a good runner with a winning bid of £430 on Ebay.
The purchased car had to be under £500 so had a few pounds left over for a few improvements.
However these improvements have now included the following.

1. rear subframe replacement due to a broken rear suspension mounting. a local scrap yard supplied a complete rear suspension unit for £80 !
2. various electrical gremlins sorted !
3. welding a replacement rear exhaust tip on and welding a 1" hole drilled in exhaust pipe ?
4. welding front bumper mount back on as rusted off. (was lose)
5. replacing missing front exhaust bracket and alloy support.
6. drilling out 3 broken bolts holding engine to gearbox ! noticed while doing above. new bolts now fitted !
7. replacing various missing nuts bolts and washers which must of been needed, but various garages throughout its life had deemed weren't required ! some doing important jobs !!!
8. finding no drilling or tapped hole for the temp sensor in the block so a modification done to provide one ! hence a request for head info in other thread.

Now the only job left is to replace the cam angle sensor !!!!
Due to a fault code P0008, i am guessing the sensor may of been damaged during the belt change or may have a incorrect exhaust pulley fitted ?