Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster - I've been saving up to get enough together for a unique project, and I've picked the Brera for its looks and relative rarity.

I'm a journalist, so I get free entry to a lot of rallies around Europe in return for taking photos and writing good things about them (which isn't hard as a petrolhead), but I've never had the funds until now and it has seemed like a shame to pass up the opportunity.

I have a budget for car and parts of £17,000. I have a mechanic who will do all the work.

My thoughts were along the lines of:
-Early v6 Q4 Brera - circa £6-7k
-EITHER Autodelta supercharger kit or Maserati 4.2 V8 with corresponding gearbox - £7-8k
-New shocks/dampers all round
-Brake upgrade if necessary
-Stripping our interior and replacing seats with light buckets (roll cage not needed as I'm doing regulation stages rather than out and out pace). The back seats in a brera are useless anyway, right?
-Anti-roll bars front and rear

What are everybody's thoughts towards this, and has anybody done anything similar?

Thanks in advance,
Stefano

·
Registered
85 Posts
I'm a journalist, so I get free entry to a lot of rallies around Europe in return for taking photos and writing good things about them (which isn't hard as a petrolhead), but I've never had the funds until now and it has seemed like a shame to pass up the opportunity
Hi Stefano,

Unfortunately I can't offer any wisdom on this but I would like to say that you've got my dream job!

Looking forward to following your project.

Jess

·
Registered
1,968 Posts
Wow interesting project!