Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I'm looking at changing the standard plain discs on my brera 3.2 to drilled and grooved ones. Mainly for aesthetic reasons, but also for performance. Just wondered if anybody knows of anywhere that I might get some for a good price? Mtec seem to be the best price I've found so far, but i've had no experience of them and therefore have no idea if they're any good or not.

·
Registered
3,480 Posts
Hi folks, I'm looking at changing the standard plain discs on my brera 3.2 to drilled and grooved ones. Mainly for aesthetic reasons, but also for performance. Just wondered if anybody knows of anywhere that I might get some for a good price? Mtec seem to be the best price I've found so far, but i've had no experience of them and therefore have no idea if they're any good or not.
Performance needs quality and that comes at a price.Cheap brakes are never a good idea espesially on a heavy car like the Brera Q4.:D

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I completely agree, but there has to be some compromise. I'd go for full brembos, but the price is astronomical!

·
Registered
831 Posts
Performance needs quality and that comes at a price.Cheap brakes are never a good idea espesially on a heavy car like the Brera Q4.:D
Grooves and drills aside, is there any difference between cheap discs and expensive discs?
I'm talking about one piece cast iron discs, not carbon ceramic or two piece ones.
They are all manufactured to the same specs, they are identical in size, shape (including vents and all) and I doubt the expensive ones use a different cast iron type than cheaper ones.

·
Regional Support, For South Scotland - AOSS
3,507 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts