Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Had new top strut mounts fitted (Febi) when put new front shockers on (Bilstein B4's I think).
There's a knocking noise appeared which wasn't there before replacing the parts.
Garage says there is play and that's where the knock is coming from???
Also had new bottom bushes and top arms replaced.
I'm not a mechanic so I rely on other people/garages to do the work for me.
Any help or advice please?

·
Registered
171 Posts
Had new top strut mounts fitted (Febi) when put new front shockers on (Bilstein B4's I think).
There's a knocking noise appeared which wasn't there before replacing the parts.
Garage says there is play and that's where the knock is coming from???
Also had new bottom bushes and top arms replaced.
I'm not a mechanic so I rely on other people/garages to do the work for me.
Any help or advice please?
I fitted bilstein front shocks last year, they came with a nut but no washer for the top mount. When the nut reached the end of the threaded section of the shock tube it still wasn't tight to the top mount once the weight of the car was on it and would have knocked and rattled in use. I reused the old washers and this was enough to keep things tight, perhaps the garage has been caught out with this if their kit didn't come with washers either?

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi mate, yes that's probably what's happened, not put the washers on etc.
Thanks for help.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Any idea what size or where I can get replacements as I need to fit them to make it right?
Garage no longer has my old parts and due to some other previous issues I will not be using that garage again, ever!!!

·
Registered
171 Posts
Any idea what size or where I can get replacements as I need to fit them to make it right?
Garage no longer has my old parts and due to some other previous issues I will not be using that garage again, ever!!!