Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, this is my first post here, I'm just learning my way around.

My mate has offered me his Brera 2.2, an absolutely stunning looking car. I haven't had a chance to give it a proper drive yet to test the handling so wondered what the view was here.

I usually buy cars which handle very well, currently own a Corrado VR6 Storm, which is about the best there is in the handling department. Whilst I'm willing to compromise a little on handling for comfort, I do want something which doesn't act like a blamange through the corners.

It's probably going to feel a tad slow too compared to the Corrado but I've got a motorbike so not too bothered about that. I don't want the 3.2 V6 due to the fuel consumption, which seems very poor. My Corrado is a 2.9 V6, does 0-60 in the low 6s, and has incredible in-gear acceleration times and will still return 30 mpg. That's progress for you!

Thanks in anticipation of any advice.

Cheers

·
Registered
11,591 Posts
I think you will find it is slow and may be a little rough on poor roads. The latter can be 'fixed' with better dampers, the former is a "Fixture...Drive it and see if you like it is really the only way. ;)

·
Registered
42 Posts
I have a 2.2 in black and 18inch crosspoke wheels and since owning it I have women flocking around me wanting to be seen out and about with me driving the car so much some days I take my wifes car as most of them I dont know and can be quite insistant so my advice is just buy it and see how the handling is for yourself

A

·
0 Posts
If its your mates car, then go and drive it and make your own mind up, is the only honest reply I can think of. I suspect you will find a 2.2 a bit tame after a 2.9 Corrado, but the Brera is more about being a good looking civilised tourer than being a speed machine.