Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an issue where I'm getting a whine from the rear left speaker. I've tried unplugging the sub at the back and this seams to stop it. I'm looking to unplug only that speaker as a temporary measure until I get it sorted properly.

There's 4 wires in the plus that go in to the sub, can anyone tell me which links to the rear left speaker so I can disconnect?

If anyone has any advice on a long term fix as well that would be appreciated!

Please use small words as I'm a complete novice with the electrics

Thanks

·
Registered
446 Posts
maybe just remove the cables from the rear speaker? First remove the little ashtray, remove the philips screw at the back and gently pull the trim away to reveal the speaker. Could be accumulated dust that is vibrating on the mebrane.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
maybe just remove the cables from the rear speaker? First remove the little ashtray, remove the philips screw at the back and gently pull the trim away to reveal the speaker. Could be accumulated dust that is vibrating on the mebrane.
This reveals the small speaker at the top but sorry I meant the larger one below. Is there an easy way of exposing this?

Weird the little speaker has a plug going in to it with wires, but it doesn't seem to have an actual speaker in it?

·
Registered
74 Posts
The BOSE system in my 147 is pretty dire. It seems to ignore all the accepted rules of thumb with regards to sound quality. I would say it's the worst stock audio experience I've encountered in a car to be honest, but mine might have been tampered with. Not sure.

Regardless it will be ripped out and replaced with quality component speakers and a new double DIN head unit if I keep hold of the car.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
How should I go about getting access to the larger bottom speaker?