Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,638 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I fitted a BMC CDA to my 156. Not because I'm a boy racer :lol: but because she'd been stuttering at low revs when pulling away and I'd noticed that cleaning the throttle body had improved things so I wondered whether she was suffering from poor mixture/air throughput etc. I'm no mechanic but I like to spend time tinkering with my bella. :) The outcome after fitting the CDA is a marked improvement. I'm not saying it's fixed the problem completely but there is a significant improvement. :)

What's more, I've also noticed that my fuel consumption has improved slightly - instead of 430 miles to a tank the last two trips to Doncaster and back (a regular trip every week) I got 460 and 475 respectively. And there's more - she seems to be using slightly less oil. Over 1000 miles, I used to have to top the engine oil up from around the half way mark on the dip stick, whereas this time it was roughly 3/4 way up the dip stick after 1000 miles. Early days I know, and I accept that my 'measurements' are not an exact science but could there be a technical reason for the fuel economy and less oil usage?

Up shot is, I quite like the occasional grunt the CDA gives, driven normally round town you'd never notice it is there, but give her some welly and there's a definite low end growl. Cant say the performance is greatly improved though - but that's fine - that's not what I was after. :D