Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After starting my 2.4 JTD 156 up I occasionally get the "glow plug" coil indicator on the dash blink at me, It is not on every start up and it lasts only 3-4 seconds before going off.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
The glow plug lights indicate engine is being brought to temperature and you should wait it to turn off before starting the engine. (you probably know that but I just say for future reference)

Blinking lights after engine startup means there is a fault I think. I'm no JTD expert but you need to have it checked. Perhaps connecting to OBD will provide more details?

·
Registered
303 Posts
I have the same thing... I just presumed it was because they were warming up.

Does anyone have a definate answer to this?

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
AFAIK if the glow plugs light is flashing after startup for JTD and facelift JTD it means there is a fault. 99.7% sure. Even if the light goes out after startup the problem is still there.

A definite answer would be provided if you check what is the OBD error code!

·
Registered
222 Posts
I can confirm a flashing glow plug light does indicate a failure, and this can indeed be confirmed with the use of alfadiag or Fiat ECU Scan.

I wouldn't worry too much though if it is starting fine. I've had a failed glow plug all through winter and the nasty snow we had, and had no troubles at all starting the engine

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
so are we thinking that its a problem with the glow plugs or a problem with the engine? I have a friend who has the diag software so may hook it up and see.
Goiung to give it a full service I think first to see if that sorts it. If it a problem with a glow plug then maybe this will sort it.

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
Only with glow plug issues this will occur. And it will flash up to 30 seconds according to manual. If less than 30 seconds I guess it is a minor failure.