Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hay there guys. I am seeking a little bit of advice - as I am relatively new to owning an Alfa, and whilst I am enjoying it, it confuses me a bit! Lol.

Anyway.. Wednesday night on my way home from work, had what I would describe as a few 'slips'. You know when the power drops under traction? It felt like it was slipping, but it would be when the engine is under load.. Only happened twice, as it was raining like mad - I thought nothing of it.

Went to top up the oil on Friday AM, turned over the engine - struggled to start.. Struggled in reverse, juddering like mad. Let it warm up a little an idle, no problems.. About 10 miles into my journey - I began to get the MCSF flashing up, accompanied by a flashing engine management light.. Chilled out on the revs, seemed fine. Anyway. As the journey progressed, it started flashing more and more.. Car juddered under any sort of load or rev, only if the accelerator is feathered slightly will it build speed. Struggles in 1st and 2nd. Didn't seem to mind fourth all that much? If I accelerate - it will judder and then bring up the MCSF light. It seems to clear and then accelerate like there is no issue?

Anyway. By the time it came to go home - the Engine Management light was now fixed to the dashboard, and if I dare try to use the throttle it beeps at me! Lol.. Driving it is all fine as long as your calm and drive under low-revs (under 2-2500rpm).

I have read through some threads here on the forums, which seems to suggest coils, ht leads, spar plugs? And that it's not much use posting without fault codes! I will be getting these tomorrow and will thrash them on here to see what you think.

Does anything pop out as obvious from what I have described?
It's a 147 2.0TS 16V Lusso.

Any help and guidance is appreciated!!

·
Registered
97 Posts