Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
See Pistonheads - Biofuel Timebomb story.
It seems that the percentage of Biofuel in standard unleaded fuel will be increasing to 10% from many petrol stations next year. This can have a potentially disastrous corrosive effect on alloy components and seals in the fuel system. There is a very incomplete list of cars which are E10 fuel compatible on the Pistonheads site. Of course the 916 GTV and Spider are not listed. So can anyone provide a definitive and concrete answer as to whether we have anything to worry about?

·
Registered
4,301 Posts
I'm no expert on bio fuel or engines but....

Wouldn't it just be a case of changing the way the fuel is delivered to the engine? (alloy fuel rail) :confused:

·
Registered
37,737 Posts
Stupid Tree-Huggers thinking they are doing something good, but in fact they are doing the opposite.

Plus the EU with their laws being imposed upon us.

·
Registered
30,070 Posts
Plus the EU with their laws being imposed upon us.
I don't think this is an EU issue.

The UK gave the Petrol companies a tax break for using 5% Ethanol in Petrol several years ago, that meant that for the same forecourt price the company made more money.

As a result, unleaded in the UK has been E5 for quite a while now.

As for increasing the Ethanol quantity we need to ask the guys in Brazil, they have been running E80 for years!

·
Super Moderator
916 Spider P1 Lusso
9,446 Posts
Both Mr PG's Jag and Spidey fall foul of this. Gutted! We still use unleaded in the Toledo though with additives - I wonder how long before additives hit the market for this.

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
I wish I could be smug about this, but the LPG station on the way to work has closed because the forecourt weren't making any money on it. :(

·
Registered
4,301 Posts