Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
938 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi have a slight dull look on the bonnet not the same as the paint work on the side panels
and i have tried mequires products (scratch x) and polish with no results also used shield and rally wax needles to say is kak
what products (locally available) are u guys using and is there results ?
the shield and rally wax lasted 7 days and u could see the wax was gone:cry:
cant wax every week

·
Registered
10,929 Posts
Meguiars products generally are good. You have to use waxes continuously or risk the dullness showing. After a couple of applications the shine will be more permanent. It seems like you need a deep cleaner first. I'm not an expert but people like Master Paul and Springbok would be able to guide you in the right direction.

·
Registered
419 Posts
been working on mine too, did a meguires polish, looks shiny but doesn't feel smooth. turns out you need alotta work first in prepping the paint and then a good polish and a few waxes before you get that shine.
so im considering taking it to 082 car wash as the use autoglym and getting them to polish it for me using a machine

·
Registered
2,694 Posts
What paint do you have? Is it "Nero Black"?
Its not an easy paint system to polish - it can require double polishing with 2 compounds.
It is also very suceptible to swirl marks from incorrect washing techniques. Google "The two bucket method" and make sure your are using a proper car shampoo (that doesnt strip off existing wax - like sunlight! and has a lubricant to prevent the dirt youre washing off from scrating the paint)

Remember the difference between polish, glaze and wax. Polish is an abrasive the corrects problems, glaze goes on before wax to improve depth and shine - it can sometimes include fillers to hide micro scratches. Wax (natural) or sealant (synthetic) is a protectant - your final barrier against the elements.