Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
30,067 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone know of a wiring kit to install battery into the boot?
i think an engine bay looks so much better without that lump of a battery! :)

did think of gettin a heavy duty jumper set for cable and buying new terminals, claping the battery in the boot and re terminating all leads under the bonnet. making sure that i add a ventilation pipe through the boot floor panel. then makin a nice cover for it....
i am an engineer by trade but it does'nt help to ask tho

:D

M

·
0 Posts
sounds good...you will need to take pics to show us how you did it !!

·
Registered
13,236 Posts
Can you run the battery Positive cable under the car? If you drill some holes in the floor you'll be able to clip it in place with some P clips.

I'd guess the best place to come back into the car is through the boot floor over the rear silencer, as the floor there is recessed (looking at it from underneath) so any water/spray thrown up by the rear wheels would have to run uphill to get into the boot (though I presume you'd seal the hole with a rubber grommet anyway).

Negative earth is just any eart point so that can go from the battery to a tapped hole/captive nut on the rear wheel arch.

Ralf S.

·
Registered
30,067 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Can you run the battery Positive cable under the car? If you drill some holes in the floor you'll be able to clip it in place with some P clips.

I'd guess the best place to come back into the car is through the boot floor over the rear silencer, as the floor there is recessed (looking at it from underneath) so any water/spray thrown up by the rear wheels would have to run uphill to get into the boot (though I presume you'd seal the hole with a rubber grommet anyway).

Negative earth is just any eart point so that can go from the battery to a tapped hole/captive nut on the rear wheel arch.

Ralf S.
cheers ralf! :)