Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
5,783 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have been using auto glym for many years now to detail my alfa,s, generally the products are very good, i often wonder should i stray to another brand and get even better results , has any one gone and left the glym products to another brand and are happy with the results:cool:

·
Registered
2,263 Posts
Autoglym were great and I still have bottles of SRP and EGP because customers know the brand and trust it. I will also say that they're not what they used to be and there's far better out there. For example, SRP is no longer really a polish, the recent change in formula saw the abraisives removed and it's now full of fillers, so it's more like a glaze. The results don't last anywhere near as long.
If you're serious about trying other products then I'd suggest looking at:
Mainz.
Angel Wax.
AutoBrite Direct.
Soft99.
Juicy Details.
Dodo Juice.
Poor Boys.

All are priced similarly to AG and all outperform anything AG currently has to offer.

·
Registered
433 Posts
Good question to ask, in fact I've been asking myself the same for a while now. Is it best to buy all products from one brand or mix and match.

·
Registered
2,263 Posts
Honestly I won't use Autoglym on my own car and always try to talk customers out of it. They're nowhere near as good as other stuff out there (although the shampoo is very good).
Since machine polishing mine and several customers cars I've only ever needed wax to protect the paint.

·
Registered
988 Posts
There is a staggering of alternatives to the AG range. However, there is nothing wrong with their products and if someone forced me to stay with SRP & EGP I would not loose much sleep.