Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
First off, apologies for this silly question that has possibly been asked already in the past.
I'm very very very new in this world of AR. Just got a Giulietta 1.4 2011 and it does not come with an integrated SatNav, so I'm wondering what the options are for installing one - i.e. can I buy an external garmin (and also which one would you guys recommend) or I must install an integrated official device such as TomTom for AR.

It doesn't seem to have a factory Fit Dashboard Port in the box up there. And the 12v socket is in between the sits - a bit awkward?

Again, sorry for the ignorance. Hope you could shed some light here.

Many thanks in advance.

·
Registered
431 Posts
I have a LHD version, same spec.
There are lots option depending how complicated you want to go.
My favourite was the gentlemen from Western Australia who if I recall correctly installed a unit with a reverse camera inside the top compartment, and had a motorised open close mechanism.

I went with a tomtom go5100 (I love the built in simcard for live traffic data) as I knew I would cross multiple borders and didn't want to pay for roaming data.
Initially I stuck it the windscreen using the suction cup, the reach was a bit far.
I subsequent used a stick on disc mount onto the dashboard between the top compartment and the instrument binnacle.
The cable can be routed down the steering column and under the dash trim fairly easily to the 12v socket.
I like the live traffic, speed cameras alerts, and speed limit warning this model has.
I don't like the look of the unit, its a fairly bland unit to look at, downloads from the website take ages, and very occasionally there is not enough warning left/right combinations.
Oh and how hard would it have been to offer a camera module..

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have a LHD version, same spec.