Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this forum but it looks like a really useful place, u guys sound like you know your stuff!

Anyway my AC condeser has a leak and was wondering how hard it is to replace myself? I'm no expert mechanic but quick and careful learner. The biggest thing I have done is replace my interior for leather myself.

Also was thinking of getting a 2nd hand used condenser from a Alfa broken for spares, is this false economy? I mean will I only end up having to replace this a few months down the line or are then generally quite robust?
Thanks very much,
John

·
Registered
92 Posts
John,
I'm in the process of doing mine;

Remove undertray, O/S wheel arch liner, front bumper (no need to detach from N/S), headlights and then bonnet slam panel. Manoeuvre bumper away from O/S to gain access to condenser. Undo and remove cap head bolts securing hoses to condenser - caution, they maybe corroded and either round off or, worse still, shear off. Undo and remove 4 bolts securing condenser to radiator. Lift up and remove condenser. When refitting the replacement condenser, new O ring seals will require fitting to the hoses.

I wouldn't bother using a second hand condenser, if the bolts shear off or there is a pin hole in the matrix, it's a write off and you'll have to start again.

Good luck,

Stuart

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Stuart thanks very much for your reply.
I won't need any special tools/gauges or anything to replace it will I? Also what would I do if the screws did round/sheer off?

Lastly where did you get your replacement condenser from and how much was it? I found a used one for £10 or £20- you still recon its not worth the risk?

John

·
Registered
9,188 Posts