Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts
C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, It is my wifes birthday next month, and she has expressed a very keen interest in getting a new camera.
Now then, I do know that she seems to want 10+ OPTICAL zoom and not digital zoom. Apart from that I am in the dark.
She took me by surprise, as I have already booked a night time "ghost hunt" for her, (She's into this sort of ****).
But me being me, am going to get the camera too. Now then, I'm looking at spending sub 200 quid...Can any of you true photographers give me any pointers please??

·
Registered
37,353 Posts
I wouldn't say I was a true photographer but if it was me I would look at the Panasonic TZ range.

I have a TZ8 here which I use as backup to my DSLR and it is excellent.

The latest TZ30 has a backside illuminated CMOS sensors (better in low light) and has 20x optical zoom, all in a compact size.

They are about £175 new.

Some people like bridge cameras, but for me they are a bad compromise. They have a large physical size like a DSLR so won't fit into your pocket/bag, but they have none of the benefits such as a larger sensor, interchangeable lenses etc. Allthough some offer a big zoom for your money.

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
AAaaahhhh, sorry you have just reminded me...It's DSLR she is after. I forgot as unfortunately, I know nothing about these things.

·
Registered
25,673 Posts
Why dont you try the technology section of the site, many many threads to answer your question. £200 aint gonna go far brand new though, and you have to careful buying secondhand cameras.

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thats a great idea, and I wonder how I can get the thread moved there?

·
Registered
37,353 Posts
For an entry DSLR you are looking about £250 upwards, however this will have a kit lens which are normally 18-55mm

You will have to pay extra for a zoom lens.