Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Bit of a background story first, my GT blew a headgasket sometime in winter / spring. I've set it aside for the time being, to decide what I am going to do. Then the covid-crap came and I was put onto furlough scheme by my employer. Few months on, I was called to work only to get informed I am being fired. It seemed very grim back then. The decision was made to get rid of the car, as you know, can't really go for engine repair when you have no prospect of future income. So I made a visit to my local italian scrapyard to get informed what they'd offer for my GT. It saddened me that after so much me and the previous owner done I am going to sell it for a penny.
With no other solution in the current situation, I sold it. After that, probably 2 months time, I got a call from my employer, that they need me ASAP (I work as a technical support, machinist in a engine parts producing company). The spark of hope lighted up, and the next day I went to buy my GT back 馃檪. Luckily it was untouched and in the state I brought it in, just some moss and algae on the window rubbers, which was taken care of the same day. Fast forward a few weeks, the car was taken to the shop my mech buddy works in. I decided not to just go for a gasket change and that's it, but for a rebuild instead. The motor approaching 200kkm, I thought it's needed. It felt like it's heavily carboned inside for the last 20kkm, down on power, idle fluctuations, you know the JTS niggles.

That's it for the past, and now onto the job itself. Engine was dismantled yesterday, head lifted and sent to the shop doing head rebuilds. Same with the injectors, those were sent to Bosch centre to diagnose. My friend continued with the dismantling of the internals today.
What's going to be done?
Head (cleaning, checking for straightness, pressure testing)
Changing of all gaskets and o'rings in the head, including the stem seals.