Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Posted this on newbie forum. Probably here is best place.Looking for some help folks.

Currently drive an 09 plate 159. My first Alfa and i'm hooked. Thinking about selling it and using some of the proceeds to buy an 02 plate Spider Lusso 3.0. Apart from all the obvious stuff about trading to a completely different car, what do i need to look out for?

I do about 12-15k a year commuting. Combination of motorway and in town driving. I live in Scotland so weather isn't fantastic!

Any thoughts on what i need to think about/look out for with that version of the spider? Maybe point me in the direction of some useful forum info(i'm new to it)?

Thanks in anticipation

·
Registered
30,067 Posts
Cambelt, tensioners and idlers are the first thing I'd check.

Can't remember if the service interval for the V6 is 3 years/36k miles OR 4 years and 48k miles.

Rear suspension bushies can wear and make the handling quite undesirable.

Rust isn't really an issue on these, but still look in the rear arches, under the sills and boot floor. It should be good though.

Radiators do start to dissolve and cause the engine to over heat, so look at the rad to make sure the core is good.

Check to make sure the roof works properly and never start opening it before releasing the catches or it can cause issues with the motor and pump setup.

More people with spiders cold give more info.

The V6 sounds epic :thumbs:

·
Registered
708 Posts
At 12k to 15k a year and the price of the fuel its going to cost you just under 3k in petrol at approx 25mpg
Better prob going with a Twinnie

·
Registered
238 Posts