Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys - as an Alfa newbie I am after some real advice.

I want to treat the missus to a new car when she qualifys this year (student nurse) and have been tempted with the GT. She loves the look of the thing and has always loved sports coupe's.

The old Clarksonism of you cant be a true petrolhead until you own an alfa rings so true as I consider myself a petrolhead but have never owned an alfa!

I love the look of the GT but I am basically after buying tips and common probs associated with them. I know that reliablility ahs improved recently - does this include the GT?

I am looking for a 2.0 JTS (NO DISEASEAL thanks!!) but cannot affford the 3.2.

Probably get a 2004/2005 reg with approx 50 - 60,000 miles.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again.

P.S. No disrespect to and JTD owners - I just couldnt live with a diesel!!

·
Registered
33,643 Posts
I have a 156 JTS so I can help a bit.

The engine must have it's belts and tensioners replaced every 3 years or 36,000 miles whichever comes first.If this has not been done then make allowance of £500 in your budget.

The engine can use oil so it's advisable to check the level weekly.

After that it's the same as buying any other used car.

G

·
0 Posts
Take heed of Roswells cambelt warning

The only issues I had were the MAF and coil pack issues. It's not a bad engine, needs to be revved to get anything out of it. Could also do with a new exhaust/air induction to give it that Alfa rasp it so deserves but that's just my opinion

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
The JTDm trounces the JTS. You say you can't live with a diesel, I said that until four years ago, now my last four cars have all been diesels, I'm a convert.