Alfa Romeo Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

So I have an Alfa 159 1.9L JTDm 2006 SW which has skipped a tooth on the timing belt.

I had a bit of issue with the auxiliary belt which had slipped and also a failing camshaft pulley. I'm assuming when these two parts failed it caused the timing belt to skip a tooth or two.

My question for everyone is how do I align the timing for the engine again, I have never done a timing belt before but decided to give it a shot so I've bought some tools which ill place a link too. I have taken photo's of how the belt is currently sitting with the current marks.

I have bought a kit to repair the rockers etc from Autolusso, just waiting for it to be delivered.

As much help would be awesome. I've got most of the engine stripped, just waiting to take the timing belt off.

Kind Regards,
Timothy
Water Automotive tire Motor vehicle Rim Automotive wheel system

Tire Automotive tire Motor vehicle Tread Gear

White Automotive tire Motor vehicle Engineering Wood

Wheel Automotive tire Gear Rim Bicycle part

Tire Wheel Bicycle wheel Bicycle tire Automotive tire

· Vendor
48,998 Posts
You use these to set the timing:

While carrying out the repair and the camshaft carrier is off the engine, you need to insert both cam locking tools into the camshaft carrier to ensure both the cams are correctly timed relative to one another. You can't do this with the camshaft carrier on the engine, you can only get the exhaust cam locking tool in due to poor access.

· Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Before we get carried away here, what makes you think you've skipped a tooth on the timing belt?
Hey bazz,

So what happened was I was driving and notice my power steering kept cutting out, the aircon wasn't working and the check engine light kept coming on, anyways I stopped at a set of lights and notice smoking coming out from the timing belt area so I turned the car off straight away.