Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I live in Turkey/İstanbul. I'm new to Alfa, I bought 2006 159 Distinctive pacgage [email protected] last week. Ex-Owner said it has a remap. Now I'm trying to understand and get a bond with the car. So far so good.

But First of all, I think he is lying to me about the fuel consumption. What every I like to drive, in city or highway. I cannot get above 5.6lt/100km. I have a light foot. I always try to use CC for ride. And I choice 100-110kmh. For my work to home,hom to work for 80km. I can manage 5lt/100km. But in City 6 people inside the car. me & 5 girls. light & smooth driving I get 5.5lt/100km. But When I look at the fuel gauge. I saw there are 8 parts, so one part shows for 8.75lt. After 200km I lost 2 parts, 17.5lt but the computer says 5.5lt/100km. How Can I trust , or how can I fix it?.

Secondly Ower said use Castrol Magnatech 5w-40 for oil. And dont mix anything else with the oil. And When we look at the engine. It seemed like It was burning oil before I bought it. I've added and fulled the oil. Now tomorrow I will get a full checkup. Is it true that upto 400gr oil can be burned @1000km I chech with a second car at highway. Exhaust doesnot smoke after all.

And sometimes I get something like "HillClimb cannot be used after all" then "ASR cannot be used" Where should I look.

Thank you.

·
Registered
4,749 Posts
Most poeple (in the UK anyway) use very little/ no oil.
However, you are doing well on consumption, in the UK I get 48-49 mpg on the motorway (5.9l/100), in city driving I am likely to get 40mpg or lower (7.1l/100km). Likely to be much worse with passengers.
The 159 does not do as well as it's German rivals on consumption, especially with town driving.
You will get better fuel consumption by NOT using CC (cruise control).