Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I’m new to the world of Alfa and have recently purchased a 98 Alfa 146 T-Spark. The problem I have is that the car doesn’t have a manual or guide with it and there’s a light that’s illuminated on the dash. It’s really annoying me not knowing what this symbol means so could one you guys please help me out?

The symbol looks like a key-shaped object with some lines coming out of it; it’s about half way across the dash – just to the left of the mileage display.

The car seems to be running fine, apart from vibrations which happen around about the 80 mark. Is there a manual published for the Alfa 146 anywhere as trusty old Haynes don’t seem to make one.

Thanks for any assistance, Cheers.

Owen.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Sounds like the injection warning light.

Its meant to come on for a few seconds when you start the engine and then go out. If its staying on then I guess there's probably a fault in the injection system, I think its also tied in with the immobiliser somehow, not sure if that has any significance...

R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If it's the fuel injection failure light the car wouldn't be running well, maybe the sensor needs replacing....

Everytime mine's been illuminated, my car wouldn't start.

You could ask your local Alfa dealer to supply you with a manual, don't know how much that'll be though

·
Registered
431 Posts
best thing would be to take it to a garage or alfa specalist, who has equipment that can diagnose the ECU, as from what i have seen it could be one of many sensors that trigger off the injection light.
It shouldnt cost to much for them to check it.

One thing you can check is that none of the connectors on the wiring in the engine bay are corroded as this is quite common..

·
Registered
431 Posts
ohhh and Welcome to the forums 5K4T3R

.....BTW the vibrations you are getting sound like you wheels need balancing