Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm just going to share my success with my Airbag Warning light, and cover somethings that took me some odd head scratching and loads of searching- so maybe this can save someone else time in the future.

The light came on Sunday and was fixed yesterday Tuesday.

This Monday I was completely new to this whole world of connecting the computer to a car- and I have basic computer knowledge. And I must say this was very easy.

Warning Light came on: discovered very soon that the light wouldn't disappear with the easy trick in a "01 147" of just "cleaning" the usual connections without removing the errors in the ECU with some kind of software.

So first off: Buy the cable- I bought a VAG KKL FIAT with the 4 position switch so you can with ease switch between the settings and for this purpose the AirBag setting.

I only have a Mac- also again this I haven't found covered, so what I did:

1. Installed Win XP in VMWare Fusion
2. Installed the correct drivers- Ross-Tech: VCDS: Downloads: Which One?
3. Did the usual trick in XP where you search for the specifik drivers in the Device Manager- for e.g c:/Ross-Tech- and then it didn't have the Communication Port drivers installed, but I just let it do it's own thing to search for the drivers- and it worked.
4. Install .NET Framework- I used version 3.5.
5. Download and install multiecuscan- I actually thought that the 20min session limit would work for in instance once a day- but no I was wrong, it's just to restart the program no worries there so no need to actually buy the software if you are a one time user like me.

Many claim that you can test the USB VAG KKL in the VCDS without connecting it to the car- that's not right, the led (at least for me) didn't light without connecting it at the other end.

It worked straight away when I connected it to the car.