Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

Having previously owned a 916 Spider and regretted the day I had to sell it 3 years ago ever since, I'm looking to quench my Alfa withdrawal symptoms with a Brera.

I'm fairly new to the model, having read around the buyers guides etc on here.

Anyone have any thoughts on this particular model, particulary in regards to the value of the car and what I should be looking to get the price down to?

Used ALFA ROMEO BRERA COUPE 2.2 JTS SV 3DR for sale in Rutherglen, Lanarkshire
Cheers

·
Registered
13,685 Posts
I can only comment on a 159 (similar enough) I love it as much as the 916 we have. Different cars (916 is a Spider :D) but fabulous.
The 159 is far better put together in ever respect compared to the 916.
Brera's are just a little tight in the rear :lol:.

I suspect there is a buyers guide on here somewhere but there will be one on AlfaWorkshop.

·
Registered
1,480 Posts
Personally I think it's a little overpriced, especially not being the facelift model. Saying that i paid £11,750 for my 2007 model with 42k on it in 2010 and still love it to bits

It'd be interesting to see whether or not the previous owner had the Cam belt done?? Although it states 90k, the car is now 7 yrs old, I had mine done at 72k.

Wheels are a pain in the butt to clean, but you can give yourself a pat on the back as car looks fab when done :thumbs:

·
Registered
3,219 Posts
Its a petrol so doesnt have a timing belt.

The timing chains do give problems with slightly stretching which brings on the engine fult lignt, this issue has been put down to the very long oil change intervals so if you did buy it you would be wise to have the oil and filter changed every 8 to 10 k rather than the recomended 18 or 21k.

·
Registered
1,480 Posts
of course ... silly me :yes:

·
Registered
38,319 Posts
Check for the low-rev hesitation that possible on the 2.2: