Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon all, I'm wondering if anyone else has had issues with the rear wheel (wheel not tyre) rubbing on the rear trailing arm (spring pan) under 'spirited' cornering? Its worn quite a ridge on the inner rim of the wheel!:shocked:

My understanding is that the outer training arm bushes are rose jointed, so shouldn't 'give' at all under cornering, and they look ok, although I haven't had the car up on the lift yet! Wheels and tyres are standard, as are the shocks/springs (not lowered). Not sure how old the shocks are, as we haven't had the car long.

I'm a reasonably competent mechanic, but the rear suspension looks very complicated, and I have read lots on here about passive rear steer etc.!!

Any advice appreciated

TVM

·
Registered
1,729 Posts
Are the wheels definitely 916 ones and not from 156/147/GT. I needed spacers when I fitted 147 wheels. The springpan s rubbed just like yours without them.

·
Registered
13,685 Posts
I had this. Wheels on mine were from a 147 I believe.

·
Premium Member
1,161 Posts
Originals wheels for the spider are ET30 and wheels from a 156 are ET41 so if used they will be 11mm closer to the center of the car ie. closer to spring pan arm.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Are the wheels definitely 916 ones and not from 156/147/GT. I needed spacers when I fitted 147 wheels. The springpan s rubbed just like yours without them.
Wheels are the originals! Rubbing only occurs when cornering relatively hard.

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
You get an almighty knocking noise if you have the 'old style' balance weights that clip to the inner edge of the rim. Most weights are adhered onto the inner wall these days, but it proves how close the inner rim of the alloy gets to the spring pan. Yours obviously touches (as mine did once).