Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Took my Brera for a 4 wheel alignment today and the toe and camber was pretty much unadjustable on 3 wheels due to it being seized. The guys tried with some lube and heat, but to no avail.

I want to get the necessary parts replaced so it can be adjusted properly, but unfortunately I'm no mechanic. Can anyone tell me what parts I'll need replacing to make the toe/camber adjustable again? I'm just after names of parts so I can ring around for a few quotes and ask for the right thing, without being quoted for parts I won't need...

Cheers!
Matt

·
Registered
3,250 Posts
Unless you have the powerflex adjustable bushes on the front then the camber isnt adjustable and the toe in or out is only adjusted via the track control arms which can be very tight to crack off but once the lock nut is loosened they rarely sieze.
With the back its just a case of loosening and working the adjusters loose with a good squirt of plus gas or wd40 but try not to get too much on the bushes.
As long as you dont have far to travel to where your getting tne alignment done you could do that at home and once its all free tighten it back up and drive to the garage to be set up.

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Cheers guys for the replies guys, but now I'm confused! The guy who showed me the toe adjuster on my rears said he'd loosened the nut but "the bolt inside" wasn't moving so it wasn't adjusting the toe. I'd seen him squirt some lube on as well as the heat gun so I was inclined to believe him...or was he feeding me a load of bull? I did say I'm no mechanic!

·
Registered
2,370 Posts
Yes they can seize and yes it is the bolt that must turn to adjust rear toe.
The thing with releasing spray is that most people don't give it time to work. For really seized bolts 30mins is a minimum and much better if you ca repeat apply over a few days.