Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
7,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had a bit of hassle with the Spider and am thinking (yet again) of changing.

Is a 2014 facelift Sportiva worth paying the extra for?
I see that the old one came with full leather as standard, the 'new' one does not.
It'll be the 170 bhp petrol. Mechanically, old and new are the same aren't they?

My dad has an old style Collezione (non-muiltiair), so I'm fairly familiar with that, less so the facelift.

Anybody's thoughts would be most welcome.

·
Registered
7,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
:thumbup: Haha, they must be poor! :laugh:
I do have a few other options, and yes, sticking with it is one of them.
I've been saying that for about 3 years...

·
Registered
38,703 Posts
The Giulietta will feel very light and agile compared to a 946 Spider.

And it is 100% GM free.

·
Registered
7,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
:thumbup: That's more positive!
GM-free does appeal.

·
Registered
2,825 Posts
I'm going to risk being called a hieratic with my next comment!!!

I have a Jtdm-2 140 sportiva (bear with me!) And last year was looking for a V6 spider. Eventually test drove a couple of 2.2's and was a little disappointed in how they felt to drive. A bit heavy and dull. My diesel felt a lot faster accelerating and generally lighter on the road. So I'm sure a 170 petrol will feel a million miles away from your spider lussoman. Plus as u say the 2013 comes with leather. Red in my case :thumbup:

Please don't shoot me for bringing in a diesel to the fight! But using it as a comparison!!

Julian

·
Registered
7,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for your contribution Julian :thumbup:
I agree with your comments re the 2.2 Spider, I expect the G 170 to be like a go kart in comparison!
What I really don't get is why Alfa dropped the standard (for the Sportiva) full leather interior in 2014.
That's one of the few things I think the car really needs for it to feel 'right'.