Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Currently d/l'ing the full EU set for 2009/2010 - these are for Opel Siemens NCDR, hope they work - or 4gb of rapidshare wasted - JDownloader on Mac helps tho!

If the UK one works I'll share them all out...

Only G3 owners need apply....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,107 Posts
How would I know if I have a Sat Nav enabled 166?

I have the shark fin aerial - is that a sign? Anything else to look for?

Apols for the hijack...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,107 Posts
Press the NAV button on the ICS...
Tells me sat nav not available.

But is it not available because I need to install hardware? If so, what do I need to look for? Or do I simply need install a disc? If so, where? I guess that's what I'm asking...
 

·
Registered
Alfa Romeo Giulia Super
Joined
·
2,640 Posts
there should be a cd changer-like unit under/above the cd changer in the boot
if I hear correctly Anesh is selling his second G3 soon :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
86 Posts
The satnav CD-ROM unit is located on the left side of the boot,above the battery .
There are two versions of the navigation system:
The G2 system has on the eject button an arrow and a disc (symbol).
The G3 system has only the arrow (symbol) on the eject button.

Back to the topic.
I know a guy who can recompile the OPEL files to be used in AR166 G3 systems.
If you want to do it alone i would be interested.
Currently i use the 2009 version of the maps.
Sadly there is no Hungarian map i need.
I have central Europe 2009: CZ,SK,A,DE,IT
Bought it for 4€ from the guy who recompiled it from OPEL maps.
Burned at 44x speed onto a SONY CD-R and works great.
Anybody need it gimme a PM ,can send the link...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,107 Posts
The satnav CD-ROM unit is located on the left side of the boot,above the battery .
There are two versions of the navigation system:
The G2 system has on the eject button an arrow and a disc (symbol).
The G3 system has only the arrow (symbol) on the eject button.
there should be a cd changer-like unit under/above the cd changer in the boot
if I hear correctly Anesh is selling his second G3 soon :)
Thank you both, for answering my query... :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
754 Posts
Currently d/l'ing the full EU set for 2009/2010 - these are for Opel Siemens NCDR, hope they work - or 4gb of rapidshare wasted - JDownloader on Mac helps tho!

If the UK one works I'll share them all out...

Only G3 owners need apply....
Would be interested to know if you can get it going; all attempts by me to run anything but the 2001 OEM have failed so far. I think I have a very pedantic CD reader in the boot. :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
86 Posts
Would be interested to know if you can get it going; all attempts by me to run anything but the 2001 OEM have failed so far. I think I have a very pedantic CD reader in the boot. :(
I bet You can get mine working on a G3.
Just let me know if you want to try it.
Send me a PM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Blow me! It only works - 2010 CD!!

Slightly different directory structure but still works! Now I need to test it on a 2010-only bit of road!

Will do the rest and share out later!

This is what I have;

drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:53 2009-2010_scandinavia
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:52 2009-2010_italy
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:52 2009-2010_germany
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:52 2009-2010_gb_ireland
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:51 2009-2010_france
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:51 2009-2010_benelux
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:51 2009-2010_alps
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:50 2009-2010_spain_portugal
 

·
Registered
Alfa Romeo Giulia Super
Joined
·
2,640 Posts
ALPS? wow, that's great, I didn't see that on the Navteq site, it'll be brilliant when I drive home via the German Alpine route and come back via the Stelvio pass in April...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
741 Posts
cool - will look out for this one :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
754 Posts
ALPS? wow, that's great, I didn't see that on the Navteq site, it'll be brilliant when I drive home via the German Alpine route and come back via the Stelvio pass in April...
It used to be called Central Europe. Ever since the Berlin Wall fell, it's a term you wouldn't immediately think as Switzerland/Austria & environs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,943 Posts
Blow me! It only works - 2010 CD!!

Slightly different directory structure but still works! Now I need to test it on a 2010-only bit of road!

Will do the rest and share out later!

This is what I have;

drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:53 2009-2010_scandinavia
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:52 2009-2010_italy
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:52 2009-2010_germany
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:52 2009-2010_gb_ireland
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:51 2009-2010_france
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:51 2009-2010_benelux
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:51 2009-2010_alps
drwxr-xr-x 1 ste staff 4.0K 11 Jan 09:50 2009-2010_spain_portugal
:)i'll pass on that stek
:eek::cheese:


BUT

I am sure if you backdate it to cover G2's Esh will be along any second.:cheese:

Pomeo
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
428 Posts
Hi there, I did try the 2007 disks someeone put up here recently, but they didn't work the CDs seem to burn OK I could see the directories/files on my PC, but when I tried them in car, SATNAV just sat there trying to initialise. I am sure mine is a G3, and I am putting it down to an old CDrom trying to read new CDRs. If someone could pass on a link to download these 2010 disks I can always try again, cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,300 Posts
i'm the same - no go with the later discs....is it possible that they need a more recent "genuine" cd before they read these copies?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
86 Posts
As i said before!
Since the system uses SONY stuff i highly recommend to use SONY CD-R's.
I have used them for the changer and satnav.
All burnt at 44x speed and works like a charm!
Try it out as well.
Other thing: you can use Verbatim printable CD-R's (the matt ones) as well.
They work too.

The reason is simple...
Most of the CD-R's are made from cheap ingredients, just put the CD towards direct light an you can almost see thru it.Its bad for the laser too.So try to use CD's which can't be seen thru.
I use only these two types in all my cars and never had an issue
since then.
 
1 - 20 of 44 Posts
Top