Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I drive an Alfa Romeo 147 selespeed European car of the Year 2002

I have lost patience with the my local Alfa stealer ahem *dealer .. He wants to replace every component in the car. I knew my selespeed system was on the blink but he said no codes came up, funnily enough he recomended replacing the computer just to be sure !as a uni student I couldnt justify (afford) the expense.
I had the essentials fitted (a new fan belt/tensioner)
I could tell that they were grossly overcharging and printing their own cash in that workshop because of ignorant Alfa enthusiasts like myself.

After escaping with the shirt still on my back, I vowed to learn how to fix the car myself.

SO here I am left with a beautiful fully functioning Alfa. that does not start.

The car is Stuck in Reverse and therefore cannot start

here is a link to a video of the G-box in action

IMG 1445 - YouTube

I am try to engage neutral and a strained screeching/groaning noise eminates from the G-Box, followed by clicking (accumulator?)

If you have watched this link and have any idea where the problem may lay exactly, please post!

I have ruled out these components being the cause
Pump: OK
Gearstick: OK
Brake Switch: OK
FlyByWire: OK
Battery: OK
Fuses: OK

likely cause
accumulator?
a Solenoid?
Sensor?
Clutch rod?
destiny?

·
Registered
158 Posts
She can't start as she's in gear.

If you put her on Alfadiag or multiscan you can get her into neutral.

The non starting is a response to a separate issue.

You'll also be able to go through a process of elimination on your list. All of those on it can be checked via the software. That said having had similar I'd hazard a non expert guess at clutch release bearing and as it's inside a full clutch replacement is likely.