Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I have a 2010 brera 2.4 20 valve I am having problems with . I bought this car as a non runner as a present to myself on boxing day because I just love these cars .
I have stripped and rebuilt the engine I am no pro mechanic but I have worked on cars my whole life so I've got a good understanding of engines but i am older so a 2010 cars are so complicated i might have missed something and I hope some of you can help .
When I got the car I found it had a broken air box and engine was spinning over perfectly so I stripped the injectors over spun it over and it sprayed out water so I stripped the rocker cover / cams off and found all 20 rockers broken so I believe car had been started in a deep puddle and sucked water in and hydro locked slamming all 20 valves shut at once
so I removed the head no problems with piston all in perfect.order no con rod damage as all piston rises to correct tdc .bores perfect striped head cleaned and I checked ever valve . new valve guide rubbers . New head gasket and re built engine spins over perfectly so I replaced rockets and timed the engine up with the cam belt with cam lock and crank tool and start to rotate the engine it locks up .so if I take the belt off And rocker cover cams off the engine rotate freely so the issue is valve timing
There are two screw plugs on the rockercams so that you can Insert a locking tool i assume they should both line up and lock together but mine dont engage together the cams spinning freely but can they twist .? Can the cam be 180 out how can I tell ?

·
Vendor
45,462 Posts
The cam locking tool fits into the exhaust cam, but when the cam carrier is off the engine you can also insert another locking tool into the inlet cam to ensure the inlet cam is correctly timed to the exhaust cam, did you do this? You can't fit the inlet cam locking tool when the cam carrier is on the engine as there's no room.

·
Registered