Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just had a big coolant leak. Looks like it might have come the top of the hose going from radiator to engine (see pictures) - from what I've read that hole is for a bleed screw. Found what looks like the top of a plastic broken screw in a nearby cranny. I'm no mechanic, but I'm putting two and two together. :ermm:

So I gather from what I've read that the screw can be replaced, perhaps even DIY with a metal one.

(EDIT for anyone reading this in the future - the rough running etc I mention here was an unrelated problem - see later post below).

Question is though, is this likely to be a symptom of something else? Or do these things just wear out? Other possibly relevant info:
- recent rough running at low revs
- engine light on, with beep, in last day or so
- I just replaced spark plugs (prompted by rough running, and 110km odo so time anyway)
- the alternator's recently been replaced (500km ago - by a mechanic, not me!)
- Weirdly (or not?), what prompted me to lift the bonnet was temporary loss of power steering turning into the driveway. So at first I thought I might be looking at PS fluid. But no.

Attachments

·
Registered
720 Posts
Just had a big coolant leak. Looks like it might have come the top of the hose going from radiator to engine (see pictures) - from what I've read that hole is for a bleed screw. Found what looks like the top of a plastic broken screw in a nearby cranny. I'm no mechanic, but I'm putting two and two together. :ermm:

So I gather from what I've read that the screw can be replaced, perhaps even DIY with a metal one.

Question is though, is this likely to be a symptom of something else? Or do these things just wear out? Other possibly relevant info:
- I just replaced spark plugs (prompted by rough running, and 110km odo so time anyway)