Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
4,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if the jts engine is is known for using a lot of oil?

When i was using my V6 on a regular basis i very very rarely had to top up the oil on it but in 6000miles of driving my JTS ive had to put almost 2ltrs in it....there are no visable leaks and it doesnt smoke during driving...no unusual knocks or anything from the engine to suggest its on its way out and it only has 62,000 miles on it so its not excessivly high, was serviced 6000miles ago and regularly serviced up to that point

I have heard that some 2.0TS engines can drink the oil but its nothing to worry about but i thought id check for the JTS

·
Registered
553 Posts
we've got a 2003 jts that drinks like a fish just make sure you check her at least once a week. more than likely the piston rings. Lucas oil is ment to be a good investment. seeing as i work in a garage i get my oil for free anyway :p

·
Registered
221 Posts
have you tried using a more viscous oils i.e. 10W-60 instead of 5W-40

·
Registered
4,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
have you tried using a more viscous oils i.e. 10W-60 instead of 5W-40
Not tried it to be honest..... i dont tend to mess around with oil just go for the reccomended oil. How would changing to 10W-60 cut down the consumption?

·
Registered
29,993 Posts
Not tried it to be honest..... i dont tend to mess around with oil just go for the reccomended oil. How would changing to 10W-60 cut down the consumption?
10W60 IS the recommended oil for the 2.0JTS...!

What oil are you using?

·
Registered
3,199 Posts
10-60w is what you need, i'm experimenting with my engine at the moment to see how much a freshly rebuilt engine will go thorugh 10-40w. When i first rebuilt the engine i didnt burn any oil using 10-60w and never had to top it up. I'm currently running 10-40w for a month or 1000miles to see how much is missing...

·
Registered
4,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #11