Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

It's my first time here having just bought myself a cracking 155 last week so please take it easy on me!

I'm really pleased with the car but it does not seem to run right on slight throttle. It is fine when the accelerator is at least half pressed but it seems to hesitate and run a bit lumpy when only slight throttle is applied making it difficult to drive round town or fairly slowly. I'm not sure whether this is a common fault or whether anybody has any ideas what might cause this??? I'm not sure I can live with it but hate main dealers even more ! It doesn't really feel like an electrical problem i.e. spark but I could be wrong. Do these suffer from air flow meter problems like my 3.0 GTV ??

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Simon

W

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hello....distinct lack of replies here so I'd best pitch in :D

Yes, they can suffer from AFM problems but are not as bad as the GTVs!!!!

They mainly suffer from water temp sensor and lambda sensor problems, also idle actuator.

wrinx

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
wrinx said:
Hello....distinct lack of replies here so I'd best pitch in :D

Yes, they can suffer from AFM problems but are not as bad as the GTVs!!!!

They mainly suffer from water temp sensor and lambda sensor problems, also idle actuator.

wrinx
Wrinx

Thanks for your reply and I must admit that, having trawled through the forum a little more last night, I had decided it was probably one of these as well. I'm going to check the lambda fuse later but I don't think it's this as the problem sometimes clears itself and the car runs perfectly (although not that often). The idle is also pretty good and the car doesn't stall. Is there any way of testing the lambda or water temp sensor or is it simply a case of buy a new one and try it?

Cheers
Simon

·
Registered
13,236 Posts