Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took the car in for because it was not engaging 1st from neutral after a short stop.

Its the typical problem. Gets ¾ of the way and you have to take the clutch out a way and it engages.

Alfa Benfield in newcastle flushed the box and said they had fixed it (ha ha).

I took it back a second time and the senior tech said "new gearbox".

I call a week later to get an update, having not been contacted and I have been told that they are replacing the flywheel.

Now I am no expert, but this is the wheel that sits between the engine and the clutch plate, so i can understand how it is related to the gearbox. But in all the threads about engaging 1st issues, i have never seen anybody mention the flywheel being replaced before.

Can someone she some light on this before I ring them back?

1.4 MA 170

Thanks

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
They called.

I have been told that the dual mass flywheel is showing play and so the clutch plate is unable to engage properly.

They are replacing both, but they have been told that an assessor needs to ok it first. as it is a 1300-1400 quid fix. Not that this is my problem.

I am worried now that this problem is caused from the last owner ragging it.

·
Registered
13,815 Posts
Ah, AR!!! Many guys experienced this on different G models, mine was flushed, bled, flushed and an "arm" replaced, you know, anything cheap to sort the fix out.

But it still has this issue from time to time.

How can a new car have DMF or clutch issues?

·
Registered
402 Posts
They called.

I have been told that the dual mass flywheel is showing play and so the clutch plate is unable to engage properly.

They are replacing both, but they have been told that an assessor needs to ok it first. as it is a 1300-1400 quid fix. Not that this is my problem.

I am worried now that this problem is caused from the last owner ragging it.