Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.. well I recently acquired.. well rescued a 1997 GTV destined to be gutted for its interior by a mini owner.. anyway on pick up.. the header tank cap was not sealing... you could basically pull it straight off.. so had to be towed home.

Got it home and quickly set about trying to see if its a more serious issue. Im pretty sure head gasket hasn't and isnt the issue...
It had a new thermostat and radiator in Feb this year.. the previous owner said he put the car up for sale as im march this year the heaters stopped working.

So after a day of messing with the poorly little gtv.. these are my major issues...

There is for some reason no water reaching the radiator.... ( which would explain the lack of hot air through the heaters... )

I also seem to have some sort. of air lock... I have tried to get rid of this but its not having any of it.

The car is not over heating.. just every so often you can hear the air...

Im guessing I'm going to need to flush the system especially the radiator. But is there an issue that i may have over looked...???

Oh the pipes going to the radiator are nice and hot... the radiator doesn't get warm at all....

I do have loads of other little issues but none that affect the running of the car x

Thanks...

Btw this is alfa number 8 for me now

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
599 Posts
best case:
If the system wasnt bled with the heater matrix open then there could be a nice big air bubble somewhere.

all the OEM rads ive done have had a small bleed screw at the top of the radiator (it is on the rear of the radiator at the top, drivers side [if you were looking through the windscreen at the rad]

Water wont flow to the radiator until the thermostat opens so needs to run up to temp and it should gush through to the rad.