Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks I'm new to the Alfa world and have just bought a 1970 1750 GTV and love it, but have a slight issue with the starter. Occassionally it just clicks when I try to start it. The fault is intermittent and I thought it was the battery but it isn't so I'd like to overhaul the starter. I'm guessing it's under the carbs (can't actually see it)! Is it best to remove the carbs to get it out? Has anyone overhauled one of these starters? Any tips/guides please? What wears out aside from the brushes? Many thanks for your help.

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
I had a similar problem on my 1750 spider. I fitted a relay to the ignition and fingers crossed it has been fine for the past 12 months.. well worth trying for a couple of quid.. worst case you have removed the load from the ignition.

Hi folks I'm new to the Alfa world and have just bought a 1970 1750 GTV and love it, but have a slight issue with the starter. Occassionally it just clicks when I try to start it. The fault is intermittent and I thought it was the battery but it isn't so I'd like to overhaul the starter. I'm guessing it's under the carbs (can't actually see it)! Is it best to remove the carbs to get it out? Has anyone overhauled one of these starters? Any tips/guides please? What wears out aside from the brushes? Many thanks for your help.

·
Registered
3,582 Posts
Need to get the carbs off but as Rod said fit a relay first, it often cures the problem by taking the load off the ignition switch contacts which degenerate over time, and its a lot easier

·
Registered
2017 Guila 2.0 Tbi Lusso spec, 1972 S2 Spider Junior, wife drives 939 Spider, + Abarth 595
6,950 Posts