Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here, but have had 2 previous 156's, currently own a TS, and now have a 164. And here's the problem which you clever people will have sorted before. This one is a sweetie, that is it was before this happened. 1997 2.0 Super, carefully parked off-road before the winter, running perfectly. Battery discharged completely over Xmas, so removed and re-charged. Reinstalling carefully, I can -with the key in - make the code light go out, start the engine, but after a short time the hazards come on every 30secs. I have tried every combination suggestion in the handbook, but the car did not come with a remote control - and the battery had been previously refitted by the small dealer who is now no longer in business. What am I doing wrong? with one combination the opening of the door will provide one flash of the hazards and another on closing - only once the engine runs beyond idle do they start flashing constantly. I know it's simple, I have tried the alarm key switch in the boot etc, but any ideas? When I bought it it ran fine with no remote - and he wasn't a crook..:confused:

·
Registered
3,336 Posts
Hello and welcome. :)

I'm trying to remember if there's a reset sequence for this or not. Are you saying you don't have the remote for the car, and you are using the key to lock/unlock? I can't recall if this is properly deactivating the alarm (in the UK the audible sounder is not active - immobiliser only, I believe), but the side lights flash differently for alarm/immobiliser on and off (one long flash for ON, three short ones for OFF) . I presume that they are flashing continuously after 30 seconds or so while engine is running?

I take it you didn't have this problem before battery discharged?

·
Registered
3,336 Posts
Just noticed, mine's a V6, yours is a 2.0. Don't think that should make a difference, however, as they're the same year.

·
Registered
128 Posts