Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Bit of a newbie here, been running a 164 3.0 auto on a K plate for the last 6 months or so.... it managed to pack up on Xmas day on the way to Weston super Mud with a shredded fanbelt. Anyway, £ 300 worth of tow later in Weston, the next day I bought a new fanbelt and discovered that the reason it went was the A/C pump pulley had seized. Does anyone know whether the A/C pumps in the 3.0 were the same in all model years? I've found a second hand one off a G plate, but I dont know if there were any changes and no-one seems able to tell me..... If anyone knows, can you let me know? I've been reduced to driving the Skoda Favorit I bought to get me home to Dartford ever since, while the Alfa languishes at the side of the road with the alternator and radiator hoses removed. Go on, spare me the indignity, and help me get the Alfa going again! :)

Many thanks,

Mark

·
Registered
518 Posts
the pumps from a 12v are different to the 24v models, not sure what yours is. If it has the same type of pulley (grooved belt type) then it will be ok. Pulley seizing is not uncommon. If yours is a V type pulley then you will need the same type. They are available new at about £350 or there is a brand new one on Ebay which I think is the same for £99!! or get a used one and get the bearing replaced.

·
Registered
2,060 Posts
The earliest 164s (F, G, H and maybe J?) had a big "V" belt but later ones (even 12 valves had a ribbed "poly v" belt. Obviously the pulleys will be completely different.

At some point (might have been after "K") they would have changed over to the modern "R134a" refrigerant because the older "R12" refrigerant was banned. The two are completely incompatible and the seals in one compressor won't be suitable for the fluid in the other system. There should be a plate or sticker under the bonnet that says what refrigerant your car uses.