Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone this is my first attempt at a thread so here goes!
I've currently got a problem with my Alfa 164 24V Super in that it is not running very smooth, and there seems to be resistance and hesitancy at low revs although the car starts perfectly ok and idles at the correct rpm. This will clear as the throttle is depressed but will then re-appear at odd intervals throughout the rev range and amy also miss a bit during hard cornering. To put it in a nutshell when driving it feels like something is holding it back and then it releases and frees up as you get through the affected rev range. I’ve checked around the airflow meter and there seems to be a lot of muck/oil around it and the car is drinking fuel. Has anyone had the same problem? Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
359 Posts
Hi,
I probably won't be the only one to mention it, but it's possible that the cam belt has slipped a tooth or two on one of the camshaft pulleys.
My old 164 felt exactly the same as you describe.
I took mine to the garage initially to check for a faulty plug or HT issue, but after a compresion test, they discovered that a pulley on the rear bank of cylinders was out of adjustment.
They said that the belt had jumped two teeth (surprising, considering that the engine's top end had been rebuilt not that long before I bought it!) but also mentioned that they'd seen the same thing several times before and with the same pulley!
It could be that your problem is something entirely different, but it's worth getting the timing checked before you start throwing money at various other components.

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
id also check the duct from the afm to the plenum cos mine did exactly the same and it had a split in it.It was ok ticking over but as soon as any load was put on the engine it would resist then at certain rpms it would pick up again.So check ALL the breather pipes

·