Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Got a 1992 164 few weeks ago and there are some problems with it. I did ~500 kms on it and it runs ok, but it's time to sort them out. I'm new to alfa engines/drivetrains, so i'm asking for some advice
The engine is a 2.0 8v Twin Spark, manual. 170k kms on it.

1) oil level/pressure sensors
Oil level light on dashboard is always on. Cold/warm engine, no matter. Oil level is ok, previous owner changed oil (5w40) smth like 1500km ago. Just sensor problem?
Oil pressure gauge shows some strange stuff. On a cold engine, it goes up to ~4. When engine is warmed up, it shows zero at idle, goes up when revving. Oil pressure light is always on too. I asked the previous owner about it, he said he couldnt sort it out, just checked oil level by himself.

2) distinct clattering/rattling sound from somewhere under valve cover. warm/cold engine, sounds the same. not too loud, rhytmic, not hearable from inside of car. Timing chain problems or something more serious?

3) some grinding/rasping noise from somewhere in front. happens only in 2000-2200rpm interval, very distinct from inside of car. It happens on every gear, in neutral too, pressing the clutch doesnt help. However, this hapens only when i'm riding. If i stop the car, put it in neutral, and rev it to 2000, the sound is heard. rev it some minute later - no sound. Similiarly, there is no sound when i start engine and rev it to that rpms.

All of this problems were present when i bought the car, and after 500 kms there are no changes, the car still runs ok.
I'll also try to record and upload some videos with sounds of engine.

Sorry for my bad english, will appreciate any help!

·
Registered
2,657 Posts