Alfa Romeo Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I've owned a couple of Alfas but I'm new to AO.

My 2013 159 3.2JTS has been running rough when I start it from cold, lots of vibration and a little rattle ifrom the engine bay. This morning the engine light began flashing in amber as I started the car but went off quite quickly. The car has only done about 61,000km so it's quite concerning.

I have noticed a squeaking noise from the engine bay once the car starts to warm up but it goes away by the time the engine is up to full temp. I'm no mechanic but I thought it may be a bearing, but the fact that it goes away once warm is strange to me.

Has anyone had a similar experience or know what could be going on? Could these all be linked?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
Alfa 159 2.0 JTDm Lusso 6sp.
6,458 Posts
Timing chain is the usual issue on those. What were the fault codes that went with the warning light? Without those it's just guess work.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Timing chain is the usual issue on those. What were the fault codes that went with the warning light? Without those it's just guess work.
Thanks for the insight. I havent taken it to the shop yet so i don't know what the fault codes are. I'm going to try to book it in tomorrow.

·
Registered
181 Posts
I doubt it's the chain as the EML light would be permenantly on since a streched chain will always be stretched. More likely to be a split air intake pipe, VVT solenoid on its way out, worn variator or chain tensioner.
A split intake pipe will cause the engine to splutter, buck, misfire and run rough when cold, sometimes this will throw up the EML. The split itself can be tricky to spot, you'll need to flex and move the pipe as the split could be hidden between the ribs