Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

I'm hoping to become a 159 owner very soon and have my eyes set on a 2.4 JTDM 20v variant.

I have no experience with Alfas at all so I was hoping that you could help me with some pointers for buying? I'm budgeting for around 4.5 - 5k which should get me something around year 2008 and 70k miles.

If I can find a dealer that will take my car Part-X then I'll be budgeting around 6.5 - 7k.

Also, is there anyone here who has/had one and can advise what the real life MPG is, and if you've remapped/DPF deleted, and what the MPG is after that?

Appreciating all of your help.

Thanks

Jase

·
Registered
13,688 Posts
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa...573754-definitive-159-brera-buyers-guide.html

I've had a 2006 car for about 7 months.
My experience is.
EGR Valve - Mine needs cleaning, perhaps have a EGR Delete in the future. Plagued my previous Alfa 1.9 GT too.
Power Steering - Incorrect fluid can result in permanent damage. Think mine might be on its way.
Subframes - They were not that well protected and as such the ealrier ones (such as mine) are starting to corrode.

Plenty of folk seem to have a remap and EGR delete. I think swirl flaps may also be an issue. No experience of mapping or swirl flaps. DPF is another problem but not for me.

These engine related issues affect many diesels not just Alfas.

Economy mixed driving. 12 miles motorway, 3 miles dual carriageway with plenty of traffic lights and about 2 miles on A-roads. Roughly 17 miles to work. I average about 40-41 on the trip computer. Overall though with other use comes out around 36mpg. They are not really that good on the whole compared to say VW/Audi.

·
Registered
168 Posts