Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guy’s

Please bare with me, I’m new to Alfa’s.

Never even driven one but I know I want one!

I’ve narrowed it down to either a used 2.4 159 or Brera.

Ideally the Italia Independent but they don’t seem to exist here in the UK?

I have a few questions I’m hoping you guy’s could help with.

1. Regarding remapping, how does this effect insurance and do I need to inform my insurance company if I get it done half way through a policy?
  2. I’ve had turbo diesels in the past and have had all sorts of problems with particle filters. What are the advantages/disadvantages of getting them removed? Is the MOT likely to be an issue?
  3. Same question regarding the EGR?
  4. I realise these cars sound great for diesels but would anyone recommend an upgraded exhaust when a new one is needed? Something like this? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H8VjaE3-u6E
  5. Unfortunately I’m looking at higher mileage cars due to finances, 80-100k. Is this around cam belt number 3?
  6. How about other things like the fly wheel etc? Should any other things have been changed or is it more a case of only replacing once they die?

Sorry for so many questions, I got a bit carried away!

·
Registered
974 Posts
1. Yes you do need to inform your insurance.
2. Yes MOT will be an issue, just leave it on and take it for a drive down the Motorway every now and again (in third probably).
3. In 2018 MOT Nox adherance testing will increase, so it will be a problem sooner or later.
4. Skip on that one.
5. + 6. Yup, on my 156 (2.4JTDM) I had the cam / clutch and dual mass changed around the 80K mark. You'd probably be best having the cam done earlier, at 80K the cam should of been done anyway so check the service history.

·
Registered
178 Posts
My 159 is for sale, have just bumped up the thread.