Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have had no problems with my 2.0 Ti since I bought it, but this morning it wouldn't start.

Climbed in this morning, inserted the key, and it cranked quite sluggishly for a couple of seconds until I noticed the "boot open" sign on the dash. Took key out, went back to find the boot had been ajar all night, and closed it.

When I went to start her up again nothing but some clicking from behind the dash it seemed. No crank at all. Also, no warning lights of any kind.

In my experience a failure to crank and a clicking is a battery issue. I dug out a multimeter and attempted a battery check (I'm no expert) and got what seems to be a healthy reading. Could I get a reading of 12.64 from a dodgy battery? I have a Lithium jump starter but of course that was flat, so I'm charging that at the moment. I've also on my list to check earths when the rain is gone.

In the interim, any thoughts?
Thanks!

IMG_3235.JPG

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just tried to jump the car there with my jumper - didn't seem to even notice it was attached (assuming I was doing it right). Just a CLICK from behind the dash.

Dashboard was telling me the bonnet was open. I can only assume you're still able to start the car with the bonnet up!

Earths that I can see look in good shape. What's next to do?
Bash the starter motor with something?

·
Registered
109 Posts
Battery needs a good charge.
Clicking will be the solenoid unable to turn the stater motor due to the lack of power.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Battery seems to be charged! Sounds like a power supply to the starter motor issue, probably corroded wires at one of the starter terminals. Not enough current getting through gives a sluggish start, then the wire breaks and no current gets through! I've seen this happen to quite a few vehicles at work.