Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here but on my 3rd alfa 156 selespeed - seven and a half years of fun without problems! First I had a 2001 sportwagon TS 155, then a 2002 sportwagon TS 150 and now I'm driving a 65,000 mile 2003 JTS selespeed saloon and have had it 3 months with no problems until this week...........

When i first start the car (left in neutral overnight now so i know it will start) the selespeed gear light flashes and beeps and no gear can be selected (is this a sign of low hydraulic pressure?). I leave the car to warm up for 3 to 4 minutes and eventually the flashing stops and I can hear the box trying to select gears or move something on its own. I then try and select 1st or R and it shows its selected on the dash but always stalls with a bang as soon as i try to pull away. I then re-start the engine and everything works perfectly for the rest of the journey/day as if the jolt moved a bad connection? If the car is left for a number of hours and cools down I have the same problem again but if I'm on a journey i can stop, switch off and come back after 30mins/ 1 hour and all still great.

Error codes on multiecuscan consistently show P1703 engine shutdown from auto gearbox and P1743 clutch sensor signal low and once it had P0725 engine speed no signal.
The car had the clutch done a year ago and supposedly calibrated so hopefully not that
Clutch rod length 27.7 (bit short I know)
Pump primes for 14 secs when door opened
Checked tutela oil level and it was on min so topped up - no change

Could it be a dodgy battery? Sensor? Low hydraulic pressure?

What do you reckon folks? Any help appreciated or recommendations for a good selespeed mechanic in Oxfordshire/Berkshire

·
Registered
1,501 Posts