Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys need a bit of help. Been a while since i been on and everytime i have previously one of you learned people out there came to the rescue-hopefully can be same again.

My 2003 Sportsawagen 1.6 ts was misbehaving recently engine management light on and off now and again. i felt sligt drop in power but you had to really look out for it. Was on a long drive and same thing happened. I wasn't in a position to get anything done but got a guy to stick the computer on it. said misfire of 1 and 3. Said it would be ok to get home(we were at the in laws few hundred miles away).
So it did. Light went away got home all ok so far. Few days later as i was heading to work car was spluttering and dying then perking up again. and then it died. totally. like the battery went, just cut out in middle of the road. had to get a tow home.
So my question(s) is-(im new to this and a bit crap really) does this sound like misfire/coil pack issue or something more sinister.
I basically want to know if my alfa experience has come to and end-cos i cant really afford to fix it if its going to be too bad. And if it is the coil pack what kind of price am i looking at and is this a job someone -not me- fairly competent can do at home

Ok lot of questions there but i'm kinda desperate.

Thanks and really appreciate all teh help and advice you guys give.

·
Registered
5,227 Posts
Its quite difficult to diagnose a misfire due to several sensors can be the ones that are effecting it.
Running to Lean from failing Lamda sensors can cause issues as well as the Normal MAF issues that appear on the site quite alot.

You could try disconnecting to MAF to see if it runs any better. However its a bit of a shot in the dark on myside.