Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, new member, and new ( kind of ) to alfa's.
I haven't had much to do with repairing, or technical info / general knowledge stuff.
However, I was a mechanic before I got an easy job quite a few years back, so reasonably handy with tools.
I have just bought a 156 2006 model. 2.0 selespeed.
It's not in great condition, and want to replace a few parts.
Is there any thing which is interchangeable from the early models?
A few bits which I'd need is the plastic sill / skirt.
Boot lid.
Hand brake lever is missing the button ( the surround of the button, I can still use it, but the spring is exposed on the button )
Front bumper & bonnet, pretty sure these are different but thought I'd ask.
Also what diagnostic tool is best? I have also posted regarding a key, really looking for some answers.
Cheers, Simon

·
Registered
2,370 Posts
if it is just engine then most of the cheap eBay tools are fine. If you want body, brakes and airbags then MultiECUScan (MES) is the tool to have. Free version (limited functions) is available to try before you buy (50 euros.)

http://www.multiecuscan.net

Before you install MES or plug your lead into your PC read my last post in this thread:-

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa...ecu-diagnosis-hardware-software-required.html

Lots of people have problems with cheap leads. Personally I would buy a set from Rarebear on this forum.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
if it is just engine then most of the cheap eBay tools are fine. If you want body, brakes and airbags then MultiECUScan (MES) is the tool to have. Free version (limited functions) is available to try before you buy (50 euros.)

Multiecuscan - Diagnostics software for Italian cars

Before you install MES or plug your lead into your PC read my last post in this thread:-

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa...ecu-diagnosis-hardware-software-required.html