Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, im a new 155 driver & come from Malaysia

Last week... my 155 engine explode like a bomb while starting my engine (cranking)... my inlet manifold (sign TWIN SPARK)... crashed !!!

one of my friend told me cause of spark plug... i use a Bosch Super 4, he said... that one is not suitable with 8v TS engine...

then, i replace a 2nd hand inlet manifold & a spark plug (Golden Lodge for TS engine)... the Bosch plugs head 1.5mm longer than the Golden Lodge one... dunno what will happen again...

the problem come again... but not everytime i start my engine.... its very seldom...

one foreman told me... my flywheel (rpm) sensor... but my foreman said... if flywheel sensor problem... my idling getting worst & engine hard 2 start... but, my engine idling very good !

replaced a flywheel (rpm) sensor... still face the same problem...

then, my friend told me... cause of my timing chain... it loose... so, when the bad time i stop my engine... there are 1 or 2 valve did not close perfectly... so got backfire inside the head & come out trough my inlet manifold & bomb !!! & crash it !

somebody told me, there are plug coil problem... but i've check them... still ok !

please healp me... i dun have any idea....

·
Registered
13,172 Posts
Make sure the Bosch plugs are the correct ones for your engine. Some plugs have a projecting nose (the centre electrode sticks out past the end of the threaded part) and if you have these in your engine but the engine isn't designed for them then you'll risk the plug hitting the piston.

Look in the manual and see what plugs it recommends for your 1.8. Do those plugs have a projecting nose (NGK type have the letter "P" in the designation e.g. B P R7ES)?

If your Super-4 plugs are the same physical size as these recommeded plugs then they'll be okay (the crucial difference is how far the electrodes stick out after the end of the threaded part.