Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi here i recently purchased a 2005 selespeed 147 and i noticed that whenever i want to go into reverse i have to shift it into first gear and then put it in reverse. Does anyone know why this is happening and a way to fix it ?
thanks

G

·
0 Posts
Your best bet is to get it on a diagnostic code reader and see what pops up .
There have been loads of similar issues on here last couple of weeks.
I'm no expert on the subject I'm afraid but a few simple things to check
Have a good look at the fuses and the relays ,check the handbook to find the right ones.
Check for leaks and oil level.
A favourite is the switch on the brake pedal can be faulty so send a bad or no message to the box/ecu
But to be honest you need to find a really good mechanic who knows the system.
Could be anything from a recalibration ,clutch change,actuator fault ,or sensor faults to name a few .
Good luck :thumbs:

G

·
0 Posts
I've seen so many posts recently think they should be called " Sorryspeeds" :cry:

·
Registered
3,199 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
thanks guys, i ordered a diag scanner so ill waot and see what that says, hopefully not an expensive fix

G

·
0 Posts
Selespeeds are awsome bits of kit, they are manual gearboxes with an acuartor mounted on the top but you have to know how to look after them...

Link to a really good write up... http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-147-156-and-gt/159750-selespeed-clutch-rod-adjustment-with-alfadiag.html#post2447708
I couldn't get on with the one I drove . Think there a bit marmite love or don't .
I always thought they would be more suited to a bigger engine ;)
Do agree about maintenance though.

·
Registered
5 Posts