Alfa Romeo Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no sound expert but from what I have heard is that Bose are pretty good sound systems but I'm dissapointed with it on my 147. First off you have to crank the sucker to 50 just to get proper audio level. The speaker on the drivers side is softer than the other even when playing with the balance. Also in the boot there is a Bose emblem on the carpet, is there a amp or something that may not be working ? Almost any over the counter stereo will give better sound than what I have :confused: Are you guys happy with yours ?

D

·
0 Posts
In the corner of the boot is an amplifier and Woofer. Not really a sub as its only 13cm I think.
Not great sound wise though. Trying to decide whether to upgrade to new head unit, amp and speakers.

M

·
0 Posts
Yep, I love mine.

Anything less then 40 is sublime silence but the quality is great once you turn it up and it does go up to 66. I had a courtesy car not long ago with a normal sound system, it went up to 20 but anything above 12 the whole car shook with distortion!!

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
do a search, some people are not impressed with the sound quality of their bose units, I have not heard the alfa bose setup but did try a honda accord (i know) with bose a while ago and the sound was rubbish!
assume it simply wasnt configured right and was on the base default setting.

I have the regular system in my 156 and that lacks the tweeter in the rear doors, so i have lowered the volume at the back as its too mixed and muddy.
i am almost happy with it.

play with your settings.

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
a decent aftermarket headunit along with a decent set of door speakers and replacement tweeters will do wonders for the sound quality in any car, bose is not a good quality sound system (car or home) and never will be, it is just a well marketed brand

·
Registered
14,575 Posts